Book Reviews

The Shortlist: Poetry

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:25
New books by Etel Adnan, Peter Boyle, Hoa Nguyen and Michael Palmer.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: Melanie Finn’s Second Novel, ‘The Gloaming,’ Is Winning Widespread Praise

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:25
In Finn’s new novel, a woman in flight from her life’s tragedies settles in Africa.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: A New Novel About Marital Distress, a Depressed Mother and a Move to Australia

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:24
Stephanie Bishop’s “The Other Side of the World” is an exquisite meditation on motherhood, marriage and the meaning of home.
Categories: Book Reviews

Open Book: A Civil War Classic Endures

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:24
MacKinlay Kantor’s “Andersonville,” an epic novel about the notorious Confederate prisoner of war camp in Georgia, won the Pulitzer Prize in 1956.
Categories: Book Reviews

The Story Behind This Week’s Best Sellers

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:23
Witchcraft is suspected in Alan Bradley’s latest book about the 12-year-old chemist-sleuth Flavia de Luce, No. 6 on the hardcover fiction list.
Categories: Book Reviews

Paperback Row

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:22
Seven new paperbacks to check out this week.
Categories: Book Reviews

Letters to the Editor

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:22
Readers respond to recent reviews of Richard Kluger’s “Indelible Ink,” Richard Cohen’s “She Made Me Laugh” and more.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: The Case for Shirley Jackson

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:21
Ruth Franklin’s new biography views Shirley Jackson as a writer in the tradition of Hawthorne, Poe and James.
Categories: Book Reviews

Emma Donoghue's new historical novel is a 'Wonder'

USAToday Books - Thu, 09/29/2016 - 16:54

An 11-year-old Irish girl is deemed a miracle when she survives without food.

        
Categories: Book Reviews

'Woman in Cabin 10' makes a splash

USAToday Books - Thu, 09/29/2016 - 16:53

Ruth Ware's psychological thriller is a USA TODAY best seller.

        
Categories: Book Reviews

9 New Books We Recommend This Week

New York Times Book Reviews - Thu, 09/29/2016 - 12:44
Suggested reading by the editors of The New York Times Book Review.
Categories: Book Reviews

Major key alert! DJ Khaled is publishing a book

USAToday Books - Thu, 09/29/2016 - 12:33

The title? 'The Keys.'

        
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Games People Play: Three Books on What’s Behind the Fun

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 22:14
New books on games, their appeal, purpose and often addictive qualities.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Here Are 10 Practical Solutions to the World’s Big Problems

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 22:06
In “The Fix,” the journalist Jonathan Tepperman travels the world to find practical solutions to issues like inequality and corruption.
Categories: Book Reviews

By the Book: Tana French: By the Book

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 21:54
The author of “The Trespasser” likes crime writers who see “genre conventions as starting points rather than limitations, who refuse to recognize that supposed boundary between genre and literary.”
Categories: Book Reviews

Chat live with Norm Macdonald about his new book

USAToday Books - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 12:52

Join the comedian for a Facebook LIVE video chat on Sept. 28.

        
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Disarming Iran: A Story of Cybersabotage and Sanctions

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 03:00
Jay Solomon’s “The Iran Wars” is an account of how the threat of a nuclear Iran grew, as did American efforts to curb it.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: American Apartheid: A Georgia County Drove Out All Its Black Citizens in 1912

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 03:00
Patrick Phillips’s “Blood at the Root” tells the story of how Forsyth County drove out its black residents and stayed white-only for 80 years.
Categories: Book Reviews

Bookends: Can You Read a Book the Wrong Way?

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 09/27/2016 - 05:00
Adam Kirsch and Anna Holmes debate whether some methods of reading are more correct than others.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: Stephen King Reviews Emma Donoghue’s Latest Novel

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 09/27/2016 - 03:00
In 19th-century Ireland, a nurse is hired to watch a girl on a suspicious religious fast in Emma Donoghue’s “The Wonder.”
Categories: Book Reviews
Syndicate content