New York Times Book Reviews

Fiction: A New Novel by Maria Semple, Author of ‘Where’d You Go, Bernadette’

Mon, 10/03/2016 - 03:00
Meg Wolitzer reviews “Today Will Be Different,” a poetic, seriously funny and brainy dream of a novel.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: Our Review of a Man Booker Prize Finalist, ‘All That Man Is’

Mon, 10/03/2016 - 03:00
The characters in David Szalay’s novel in stories are all in motion.
Categories: Book Reviews

Inside The New York Times Book Review Podcast: Inside The New York Times Book Review: American Apartheid

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 10:48
Patrick Phillips talks about “Blood at the Root”; Ethan Gilsdorf discusses three new books about gaming; and Melissa Clark on the season’s best new cookbooks.
Categories: Book Reviews

Crime: The Latest and Best in Crime Fiction

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:29
New books by Karin Fossum, Harlan Coben, Charles Todd and Sharon Bolton.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: A Dwarf Becomes a Wolf Girl in This Fairy-Tale Novel

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:25
A girl undergoes a series of curious transformations in Marisa Silver’s new novel, “Little Nothing.”
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: The Lines Between Patients and Doctors Blur in a Novel Set in an Insane Asylum

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:25
In Anna Hope’s “The Ballroom,” the patients and doctors at a mental hospital are not so different from each other.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: A Minotaur’s in Maintenance in a Tale of Rust Belt America

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:25
A Minotaur finds work as a Civil War re-enactor in Steven Sherrill’s “The Minotaur Takes His Own Sweet Time.”
Categories: Book Reviews

The Shortlist: Poetry

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:25
New books by Etel Adnan, Peter Boyle, Hoa Nguyen and Michael Palmer.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: Melanie Finn’s Second Novel, ‘The Gloaming,’ Is Winning Widespread Praise

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:25
In Finn’s new novel, a woman in flight from her life’s tragedies settles in Africa.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: A New Novel About Marital Distress, a Depressed Mother and a Move to Australia

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:24
Stephanie Bishop’s “The Other Side of the World” is an exquisite meditation on motherhood, marriage and the meaning of home.
Categories: Book Reviews

Open Book: A Civil War Classic Endures

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:24
MacKinlay Kantor’s “Andersonville,” an epic novel about the notorious Confederate prisoner of war camp in Georgia, won the Pulitzer Prize in 1956.
Categories: Book Reviews

The Story Behind This Week’s Best Sellers

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:23
Witchcraft is suspected in Alan Bradley’s latest book about the 12-year-old chemist-sleuth Flavia de Luce, No. 6 on the hardcover fiction list.
Categories: Book Reviews

Paperback Row

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:22
Seven new paperbacks to check out this week.
Categories: Book Reviews

Letters to the Editor

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:22
Readers respond to recent reviews of Richard Kluger’s “Indelible Ink,” Richard Cohen’s “She Made Me Laugh” and more.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: The Case for Shirley Jackson

Fri, 09/30/2016 - 09:21
Ruth Franklin’s new biography views Shirley Jackson as a writer in the tradition of Hawthorne, Poe and James.
Categories: Book Reviews

9 New Books We Recommend This Week

Thu, 09/29/2016 - 12:44
Suggested reading by the editors of The New York Times Book Review.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Games People Play: Three Books on What’s Behind the Fun

Wed, 09/28/2016 - 22:14
New books on games, their appeal, purpose and often addictive qualities.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Here Are 10 Practical Solutions to the World’s Big Problems

Wed, 09/28/2016 - 22:06
In “The Fix,” the journalist Jonathan Tepperman travels the world to find practical solutions to issues like inequality and corruption.
Categories: Book Reviews

By the Book: Tana French: By the Book

Wed, 09/28/2016 - 21:54
The author of “The Trespasser” likes crime writers who see “genre conventions as starting points rather than limitations, who refuse to recognize that supposed boundary between genre and literary.”
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Disarming Iran: A Story of Cybersabotage and Sanctions

Wed, 09/28/2016 - 03:00
Jay Solomon’s “The Iran Wars” is an account of how the threat of a nuclear Iran grew, as did American efforts to curb it.
Categories: Book Reviews